Wednesday, September 20

Review: No Filter

No Filter
Orlagh Collins

Published By: Bloomsbury
Publication Date: July 13, 2017
Date Read: July 23, 2017
Genre: YA - Contemporary Romance
Source: ARC from Bloomsbury Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pages: 368


From Goodreads:
This is the story of THAT SUMMER … the one when everything changes.

Emerald has grown up in a privileged world – the beloved daughter of a wealthy family, friends with all the right people, social media addict. But Emerald's family has secrets – and when Emerald finds her mum unconscious on the bathroom floor, no one can pretend any more. Now she's being packed off to stay with her grandma in Ireland while her mum recuperates and her dad just works and works and works.

Grandma's big, lonely house is set back from the beach, and there's no phone signal or wifi. It's going to be a long summer ... Until she meets Liam.

When you're falling in love, it's hard to tell someone everything. Even if you've got nothing to hide any more. And when secrets and lies are all you're used to, how do you deal with real love – brave and true – with no filter?

The fresh, funny and poignant debut novel from Orlagh Collins, a bright new voice in YA fiction. Authentic, down to earth and sweepingly romantic all at once, No Filter is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

No Filter was a book I hadn't heard of until I saw the list of authors going to YALC and thought that it sounded like a super cute read. When Bloomsbury contacted me asking if I would like to review it, I jumped at that chance. No Filter was a super cute romance that was just what I needed at the time of reading it and I enjoyed it.

Emerald is horrified when she discovers that she is to be spending the summer with her grandmother  in Ireland but when she meets the intriguing Liam, her summer starts looking up. Liam is the only one she can confide in and she finds herself dreading having to go home at the end of the summer.

No Filter is the debut novel of Orlagh Collins and I enjoyed it. I really liked the characters of Emerald and Liam. Emerald shows signs of an addiction to social media and I really enjoyed the back story of teens being addicted to things like Instagram and the amount of distress that can cause. Liam was super sweet and I found myself just loving his points of view throughout the book.

No Filter is not the best book I've ever read in my life and there were elements that irritated me a little. No Filter is told from the points of view of both Liam and Emerald which I enjoyed but the narration seemed a little jumpy to me. For example, you'd be reading Emerald's point of view and she mentions plans with Liam in 3 days time and the next moment it's jumped to that day. I kind of felt as if they didn't have lives seperate from each other. Like nothing happened to them in their life in those times they were apart and I found that a littel irritating.

Overall, No Filter is a super cute, flirty romance and I enjoyed it. It's a good read and the perfect book for if you're wanting a break from a different genre.



No comments:

Post a Comment

I love when people talk to me
Leave me a comment