Monday, February 3

Blog Tour: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan


Hey Guys,
I'm so excited to be a part of the blog tour for the new release by Sophie Jordan, the first book in a brand new series, Uninvited. I have been so excited for this book for so long. I have read Sophie's previous books and loved them all and Uninvited is no different. Keep scrolling for an exclusive excerpt and watch out for my review of the book later in the week.

First of all let me tell you more about the book.

Uninvited (Uninvited #1)
Sophie Jordan

Published By: HarperTEEN
Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Genre: YA - Dystopia
 photo goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47_zps3cd819f5.png

From Goodreads:The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Exclusive Excerpt...

Mom moves inside the living room, her hand gliding along the back of the couch as though she needs the support of something solid under her fingers.
       Dad drags a hand over his face, muffling his words, but I still hear them: "Oh, my God."
       Those barely there words shudder through me.
       I wet my dry lips. "Someone please tell me what is going on? What did that mean mean when he said he was my caseworker?"
      Mom doesn't look at me. She fixes her stare on Dad. He drops his hand from his face and exhales deeply, shaking his head. "They can't do this."
       "Oh, Patrick." She shakes her head as if he just uttered something absurd. "They've been doing it all over the country. What can we do?"
       "Something," he snaps. "This isn't happening. Not to my daughter!" He slams his fist down on the desk and I flinch.
       My eyes start to burn as apprehension curls through me sickly. Part of me feels the irrational urge to run. To flee from whatever horrible truth has my parents acting this way. Find Zac and hold him, bury my face in his chest and listen to him tell me he loves me again.
       Mom looks at me finally. Her lips compress and flatten like it's hard for her to even look at me. "You can't go back to school."
       "What? I don't -"
       "Let me finish." She takes a deep breath like she's preparing to dive into deep waters. "You've been uninvited." Her lip curls at that last bit. Everton Academy never expels students. They "uninvite." As though the gentle euphemism could mask the reality of what uninvited means.
       I slide a step back. My hip bumps into a table holding an assortment of framed family photos. One hits the floor with a loud crack. I don't even move to pick it up. Shaking my head, I whisper, "Why?"
       It's Dad who responds, his voice biting deep with words that will change everything forever. "You have the kill gene."


Giveaway Time:


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Follow the Whole Tour:


Connect With Sophie:

Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's also the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Avon historical romances. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows. Sophie also writes paranormal romances under the name Sharie Kohler.

Look out for my full review of Uninvited coming later in the week.


 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love when people talk to me
Leave me a comment